Confirmation Cakewreck

15 04 2012

Today, for Confirmation Sunday, we welcomed eight youth (and two of their parents!) as new members of our church.

Perhaps because Confirmation was such an important part of my own faith story, I always  look forward to this day each year.  And this class of confirmands was so much fun to work with: they asked great questions, thought deeply about the topics we studied, undertook the memorization work with gusto, and were full of great joy and excitement about stepping forward in this journey of faith.

We celebrated with a reception at 9:30 this morning. My job was to pick up the cake from Sam’s Club. It was not quite ready last night, but they told me I could pick it up when the store opened this morning at 9 a.m. If all went perfectly (and let’s be honest…nothing ever goes perfectly), I would have exactly 30 minutes to buy the cake, get it in the car, drive halfway across town, and get everything in place for the reception.

Here I should probably mention that when I’m pressed for time — or worse, running late! — I transform from a fairly pleasant person into a stressed-out, snarky, panic-attack-prone, sometimes-just-plain-mean monster. So while I had given myself the easiest job of all, I still might screw it up horribly.

But all went more perfectly than I could have imagined. Sam’s Club let me enter at 8:59 a.m., the cake was already ready for me, and I did not even have to wait in line at the check-out. After just a bit of maneuvering, I managed to fit the cake in the backseat of the car.

9:06. It seemed too good to be true…I was going to make it!  And in fact, I pulled into the church parking lot with 10 minutes to spare! Proudly I set the cake down in the middle of the table.

And then, for the first time, I actually looked at the cake.

It said (in beautiful cursive letters):

CONGRATULATIONS!*
Ron            James
Jane           Jordan
Lee             Quicky
Jake           Zachary

Did you catch that? Third line??? QUICKY????

It was supposed to be Ricky!!!

Frantically, my volunteers and I began scraping off icing and scrounging around for more red frosting in the church kitchen. All we found was black frosting, though, so we salvaged it the best we could. (And by “best,” I mean…it was pretty clearly ruined!)

Fortunately, his parents had an excellent sense of humor about the whole thing! And in the big scheme of things, that was the only major mishap … so all in all, I’d call that a success!

*Names have been changed…although none so horrendously as the cake itself!

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 04 2012
Confirmation Class “Quicky” « FACT MEETS FICTION

[…] Confirmation Cakewreck | Creative Theology. EmailMoreDiggLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

16 04 2012
jayessjaybee

awesome video… very cool!

17 04 2012
A Control Freak’s Guide to Delegation « Creative Theology

[…] food for the masses. (And in fact, I am apparently incapable of simple food-related tasks, like picking up cakes). And when I am put in charge of youth group dinners or breakfasts or receptions, I freak […]

Leave a Reply

