Night Light

17 09 2009

This afternoon after work, I walked in the pouring-down rain to volunteer an organization called Night Light International.  Night Light, a ministry which works to combat sex trafficking through prevention and intervention efforts, has operations both in Los Angeles and Atlanta.  Today, I worked with a program called “Infusion,” an after-school Bible club for at-risk kids in south Atlanta.

As I waited in the lobby for the rest of the volunteers to arrive, I chatted with the organization’s director, Courtney.  She gave me an information sheet about the afternoon schedule, and I thought I noticed something about “outdoor recreation.”

“Wait a sec.  This is going to be outside??” I asked.

“Yep,” said Courtney, glancing out the window.  “Pray that the weather clears up quickly!”

Before we left, we gathered in a circle for a mini-orientation.  Among other things, Courtney casually mentioned that the group had twice been held up at gunpoint while in this neighborhood.

What had I gotten myself into?

The afternoon was loud, crazy, chaotic, rambunctious.  Not to mention fun.  Word quickly spread around the neighborhood that we had arrived, and about 20 or 30 kids began showing up.  The crafts were cheesy, the Bible study was probably less than effective … but I could also tell that the kids had come to really expect the group’s presence there and looked forward to playing with their “big kid” friends.

And I met a lot of great other people who were also volunteering.  One guy, upon finding out that I was a violinist, invited Jordan and me to a house church/musical jam next Tuesday night.  Who knows?  We might take him up on the offer.

I haven’t decided whether or not I will return next week, but all things considered, I am glad that I went today!

Actions

Information

One response

17 09 2009
Linda Jamar

Cool!!!

Leave a Reply

