Sing a new song!

5 08 2009

Yesterday in my violin blog, I shared my new favorite quote, by cellist Pablo Casals:

“Perhaps it is music that will save the world.”

A nice idea, surely, and one which gives legitimacy to the role of music (and by extension, any other creative pursuit) within our society. Community arts initiatives repeatedly testify to the fact that art, music, and theatre can be effective tools of inspiration,  affirmation, and transformation.  But do we really believe that the arts, by themselves, are really that powerful?  I know that even I tend to downplay the importance of artistic initiatives when compared to, for example, social justice programs.  And in the church especially, the arts definitely take a backseat when compared with missions, evangelism, or spiritual formation (**Not that such things are not important, because they certainly are.  But what about an integrative vision that incorporates and nurtures the arts as an essential aspect of ministry??**)

In The Prophetic Imagination, Walter Brueggemann suggests that igniting the church’s imagination is vital to its very capacity for prophetic ministry.  As an example, he analyzes the Song of the Sea (Ex. 15:1-18), in which the people of Israel, newly liberated from Egypt, sing praises to YHWH for their deliverance.

“It is only a poem, and we might rightly say that singing a song does not change reality.  However, we must not say that with too much conviction…Only where there is doxology can there be justice, for such songs transfigure fear into energy.”

Art for art’s sake?  May it never be! Instead,  O God, may we use our creative abilities to imagine another world as it bursts forth and blossoms into our new reality!

Actions

Information

6 responses

6 08 2009
Transfiguration and the Prophetic Imagination « Creative Theology

[…] the interpretation I’ve always heard.  However, if you could not tell from yesterday’s blog post, I am in the midst of reading Walter Brueggemann’s The Prophetic Imagination.  And as I made […]

24 08 2009
Prophetic Imagination and the Lord’s Prayer « Creative Theology

[…] 5: “Criticism and Pathos in Jesus of Nazareth.”  Click for more food for thought about chapter 1, chapter 2, chapter 3, or chapter […]

2 05 2013
buy twitter follower

Hi, I do believe this is an excellent blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I
am going to return once again since I book marked it.
Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich
and continue to guide others. Products to be able to buy twitter
follower, we can easily allow you to!
Drive more Site visitors through buy twitter follower for your
User profile efficient approach.

24 07 2014
get more instagram followers free fast

Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and
I’m inspired! Very useful information particularly the last part
🙂 I deal with such info a lot. I used to be seeking this certain information for a
very long time. Thank you and good luck. . get more instagram
followers free fast

30 09 2014
youtube

Hi! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone!
Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and
look forward to all your posts! Carry on the outstanding
work! youtube
youtube

30 09 2014
instagram

Very energetic article, I loved that bit. Will there be a part
2?. instagram
instagram

Leave a Reply

