Finding Our Way

25 07 2009

For nearly a year I resisted getting a GPS.  “It’s just another expensive gadget,” I told Jordan, over and over again.  “Why bother?  Between mapquest and google maps, I think we’ve got all that we need.”

Never mind that I am quite possibly the most directionally challenged person on the planet.  For nearly a year I made it work as I navigated my way around the backroads of north Louisiana.  Getting lost was never a problem, I reasoned: instead, it was an adventure, a challenge.  I always allotted a few extra minutes to account for the inevitable wrong turn, and I was never too proud to ask for directions.

But when we decided to move to Atlanta, we had to re-evaluate.  Atlanta is a lot bigger and a lot more confusing than Ruston.  There are a million angry drivers on the road.  There are giant, terrifying, eight-lane, one-way streets.  There are at least 10 streets/roads/avenues called Peachtree.  Not to mention, “rush hour” lasts at least half the day, and it’s best to avoid driving anywhere during this time.

So, two months ago, we bought a GPS.  And the funny thing is, having a GPS does not keep us from making wrong turns.  But whenever we do skip a turn or find construction blocking our way, the GPS doesn’t even skip a beat.  “Recalculating…” she says in that annoying voice (or maybe we’re just already annoyed by our own stupidity?), patiently turning our screw-up into a detour.

(By the way….yes, we are those people. We talk back to the computer voice and even call her by name: Samantha)

Last night, we celebrated our first anniversary by going out to dinner at a Lebanese bistro.  We thought we knew how to get there, but after we entered the address into the GPS, Samantha sent us in a different direction, through an unfamiliar and busy part of town.

The remarkable thing was, we didn’t doubt her route for one second.   After all, she had the computer chip, the satellite reception, the mapping technology.  She knew the destination and the best route to get there.  And we trusted that she would tell us about every turn we would have to take.

We just drove, one road at a time.  And sure enough, we soon heard her say, in triumph, “Arriving at destination…on right.”

Psalm 23: A Modern Version

The Lord is my GPS.
I will never need another map.
He makes me drive on busy roads
And leads me beside quiet subdivisions.

Even though I drive through unfamiliar territory
I will not fear, for You are with me.
Your “recalculating” comforts me.

You prepare the way before me where I do not want to go.
You take me down this route, one turn at a time,
Until I find myself “arriving at home” with You forever.

Actions

Information

One response

26 07 2009
Linda

I love it!

Leave a Reply

