an answered prayer??

20 07 2009

And, one last post about our experience at church yesterday.

Last week, frustrated by the futility of my job search, I decided to change tactics and set up the foundation for a freelance music business (see my recently updated site at calliedean.wordpress.com!)  I was accepted as a part-time violin teacher at a local music school (YAY!) but will still need to find my own students, and possibly another lesson venue, to fill up the rest of my time.  In my head, I had thought it would be ideal if I could find a church that would let me give lessons there, and I would be more than happy to work in arts ministry and service in exchange!

So, here is a recap of a conversation from church yesterday:

Guy sitting in front of us: Hi! I’m Matt.

Me: I’m Callie.

Jordan: I’m Jordan.

Matt: Is this your first time here?

Jordan: It’s our second time.  We actually were here last week, too. We just moved to the area.

Matt: Oh, are you a student at Tech?

Jordan: Yeah. (they converse about materials science, engineering, PhDs, etc.)

Matt (turning to me): So what will you be doing while he’s working on his PhD?

Me: I’m not sure yet. (I fumble for words and sound like an idiot for a few seconds before I remember that I do in fact have a plan!)  I’m going to be teaching violin lessons.

Matt: Oh, really?  We’re actually hoping to start offering art and music lessons here at the church…

What were the odds?  We ended up sitting behind the very people who are starting a new arts ministry at this church, which will be affiliated with the international arts mission/ministry that they founded!  It was just a few seconds of conversation, and who knows what will come of it…but there was definitely a seed planted!

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 07 2009
Linda

Wow, that’s awesome!!! I still looking for some more guidance as we begin our arts ministry here at Noel.

20 07 2009
calliebdean

Yeah, isn’t that cool?? I’m excited about this church–maybe it will stick! And I love love love arts ministry and definitely wish I could be there to help out with Noel’s!

Leave a Reply

